The Hugo area has a rich history. Like much of Minnesota, Hugo was originally Dakota land.
It was then "settled" by Europeans, largely of French decent, who organized and referred to the area as Oneka Township (1870). The word "Oneka" is derived from the Dakota word "onakan" or to strike or knock off rice into a canoe.
As the railroad industry increased, it brought more industry and people to Oneka Township. By 1906 the area was surveyed and soon after became known as the Village of Hugo.